Apr 22: Sergej Sumlenny, Bakhmut 2021

Thread published on April 17, 2023

Ukrainian Bakhmut in 2021 - one year before Russia came with its Nazi Russkiy Mir. I visited Bakhmut in 2018 and stayed in a hotel visible in this video behind the stadium. Nether the hotel nor the stadium exist anymore.


My trip to Bakhmut 2021

In 2018, I visited Bakhmut, bought some soda from this decommissioned German DHL delivery truck, re-used as a mobile shop, and I got a digital award for staying in “Hotel Bakhmut” in the city center.

Now the city does not exist anymore because of the Russian terror.

Image
Image

There was a stadium behind the hotel - I tried to make my jogging exercise there, but it was extremely hot at noon in July, and I gave up after 3 km (instead of planned 10).

Neither the hotel nor the stadium exist anymore.

Image

Next day, we went to the Mayorske checkpoint about 40 km from Bakhmut - the last Ukraine-controlled position before the Russia-occupied territory. People could cross the contact line there. Of course on the days when the Russians did not shell the checkpoint (they did it regularly).

Image

There were signs warning about landlines everywhere. Street signs were pierced by the Russian bullets - as the Russians shot at “Kharkiv” name after they realized they will not get the city.

Now there is much more mines and UXOs, and Kharkiv is still free. #RussiaUkraineWar

I jogged in Mariupol too, up to AzovStal steel plant from my hotel Reikartz (the pic).

Neither the plant nor the hotel exist anymore.

Where you see “8” at my map, it was the theater which the Russians bombed killing hundreds of civilians #RussiaUkraineWar #RussiaisATerroristState

Share

0 Comments
E-Stories Video Library
This section is open to everyone. It will include videos about the war in Ukraine I have been collecting.
Authors
Monique Camarra